Sponge science

I never really stopped to think about sponge as a living thing, but then a friend told me this awesome fact: YOU CAN PUSH A SPONGE THROUGH A SIEVE AND IT WILL PUT ITSELF BACK TOGETHER AGAIN!

spongeREAGG

I thought that was pretty cool – although I was imagining that it just immediately reformed like some sort of space goop, but actually it takes about three weeks to make a tiny sponge.  The sponge is actually a load of single cell organisms stuck together so when you put it through a fine sieve all you are doing is separating the different cells – it’s not killing it in any way.  The impressive bit is that once they are separated the cells make their way together again and join back up.  Scientists think that this is evidence of how bigger lifeforms formed millions of years ago.

Here’s a video of the sponge sieve experiment in action:

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Benjamin says:

    That’s really cool, Alfie. I never knew that!

  2. Falconeska says:

    I love your blog, Alfie. I’m now trying to imagine how cool it would be to be a sponge 😀 x

    1. Alfie says:

      Thanks – I’m really pleased you like it! It would be pretty awesome to reform but I guess not much else goes on for a sponge 😉

Leave a Reply

